Built in 1898 from local brick, this small rectangular church was originally an outlying chapelry of the Parish of Guisborough to serve the increased population of Commondale employed at the brick and pipeworks. It was transferred to the Parish of Danby in 1968.
The village was once known as Colmandale.
The church contains a vibrant stained-glass
window depicting St Colman, 3rd Bishop of Lindisfarne, who was defeated in the debate to maintain the date of Easter according to Celtic tradition (at the Whitby Synod in 664 AD)